I was on my routine cycling trip this evening. I passed through a chicken shop. I have passed through it a 1000 times without observing much. Today, I saw its rate board. It said LIVE chicken Rs 115/kg and dressed chicken Rs 130/kg.  I was thinking, defeathering the bird is an exercise involving real human labor and considering time and effort, it should at least Rs 10/= . This brings me the important figure of life of that bird . It is

Rs 130 ( LIVE)- Rs  115( defeathered and killed bird )- Rs 10 ( Cost of defeathering ) = Rs 5 ( Cost of life of that bird)

I was thinking that if after all this improvement in science , genetics, bio technolnogy even with 5 billion dollars we can’t inject life in a dead body but Rs 5 is enough to take it out of the body ?

I am not being overtly sentimental or sissy about it.  I know  it wont make an iota of difference to people who have grown up eating birds. Let alone convert even 0.0001 % of them, it even wont get a microscopic % of them into some sort of a thinking.

Its easy but its blood !!

 

The 3 questions I have are :

  1. Is the life so cheap?
  2. When we cant give life ,how do we take it ?
  3. Is it worth taking life for when 1000 other ways to fulfill hunger exist ?

 

PS: An article which says that we cant stop global warming unless we stop eating too much meat.  http://www.salon.com/2014/03/31/we_cant_stop_global_warming_unless_we_start_eating_a_lot_less_meat/

Leave a Reply

